Tom Simard

Poetry, Music, and Prose

Setting Sail

Having recently completed Gershom Scholem’s monumental work on Sabbatai Sevi, I think I can safely begin.

Scholem’s introduction to the Sabbatian movement was 102 pages long.  Well done, I say. I’ve always thought trying to get proper bearings was necessary before setting sail, which is what I’ll be trying to do.  I know the analogy is better suited to The Odyssey but always having had a strong pacifistic streak, I feel a little awkward saying sharpening my swords – unless, of course, they’re being made into plowshares, which I am pretty sure is not the case in The Iliad.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Setting Sail

  1. Followed your link – he was quite a guy. Very informative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

