Tom Simard

Poetry, Music, and Prose

Family

Family
A family
may have
its own unique warning
to save one
from what nature or nurture
combined to produce.

Ours was simple:
If you drink,
you die.

My uncle
was justifiably
marked as Cain,
but all that he shattered
was tidily
swept away.

My aunt found herself
in a position
impossible to
escape,
and
her gentle spirit
was no match
for the bottles
strategically placed.

My brother was wild
as the wind
with a temper
that knew no end
or solace.

Who would
have imagined
as she rose to the top
that the punches
thrown at my cousin
would have finally
knocked her out?

I lie now
my body
like a beached
whale,
my face jaundiced,
but my red eyes
still show their
cunning.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Family

  1. The ending… Wow.

    Like

  2. This one is suffocating, and that’s not a bad thing. Addiction of any kind is bad, but alcohol seems so pernicious, a daily poisoning.

    Like

  3. Stunning short poem. Congratulations on this one.

    Like

  4. beautiful poem…very creative my friend..glad to find your blog here :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

