Tom Simard

Poetry, Music, and Prose

Wednesday’s Choice

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Choice

  1. Totally loved this back in the day, still totally love it (:

    Like

    • While not all of their songs still work for me, this one certainly does.

      Like

      • What… are you saying ‘Bike’ no longer sounds contemporary/cutting edge?

        Like

      • Nice one. Almost everyone would have problems placing that one – 1952? 2014?
        I imagine my inability to get what I used to out of certain of their music (and they’re not by any means alone in that respect) has to do with getting older.
        What is interesting to me are the artists, and there aren’t that many of them, whose work still speaks to me in much the same way as it did way back when.

        Like

      • 1967, I believe. I find all Pink Floyd between ‘More’ and ‘The Final Cut’ astonishing, though I have gone periods of years when I’ve not listened to any of it. I like all Pink Floyd outside those parameters, though I find it either dated or slightly hollow due to Roger Waters no longer being involved.
        I recently bought a digital copy of Neil Young’s ‘Decade’, to replace the vinyl version I lost a few years ago when I lost my entire record collection (sad story)… and was just blown away by how exactly it evoked all the same responses it did when I was 18, and just how frikken talented Neil was/is.

        Like

      • What’s the story behind losing your record collection? (I lost nearly all of my books when our basement flooded years ago.)

        Like

      • Snap! The substandard accommodation I was living in at the time flooded 3 times in several months, each time damaging my record collection (500 albums), until I couldn’t bare the damage (totally ruined covers) any more, and i gave my entire collection to a Hospice shop… as well as my $1200 Regga turntable; they (elderly volunteers) were oblivious to what I’d given them!. Life, it’s a funny old thing. Never mind, I have 2355 albums on my hard drive (:

        Like

      • I’ve done some listening to interviews about Syd and have downloaded all of their albums. I’ll be travelling soon, and will have ample opportunity to listen to them all. I’ll start from the beginning and carry on and see what I make of them. I really know only Wish You Were Here, Dark Side very well and to a lesser extent Meddle, Animals, and The Wall.

        Like

      • I think I have most of their stuff, 30-odd albums. More and Obscured By Clouds are in a league of their own, between the early, Syd-influenced psychedelia and the later, Roger-strong stuff. Very distinctive, and a direction they did not take… you can hear echoes of it on side two of Meddle, but side one is the sound of the direction they went.

        Like

      • It’ll be interesting to listen to those two and see what I make of them.
        I’m going to be using the journey as an opportunity to listen to a lot of music I haven’t heard – and believe me, there’s a lot of that!

        Like

      • The journey will colour the music and the music,the journey (:

        Like

      • Great way of putting it!

        Like

  2. Bit of synchronicity here Tom. Last night I was listening to their, “Another Brick in the Wall.” Loved this cut as well.

    Like

  3. Great Wednesday’s choice, Tom. Probably my favorite Pink Floyd album.

    Like

Leave a Reply

