Tom Simard

Poetry, Music, and Prose

Of the Wednesdays to follow

As I’m sure you’re all aware, music has always been important to me; I really can’t imagine life without it.  Usually I go through phrases where I listen to a particular kind of music or artist.  But through the years there has always been a constant.: Haydn.  It’s a rare day indeed when I don’t listen to Papa. For the foreseeable future, the idea is to share with you some of the treasures I’ve found.  Whether you agree with the following statements or not, I do hope you’ll come along and enjoy the journey.

“It’s not holy music, it’s like you and me; it’s very human and shows very normal feelings. More so than Beethoven. I feel better as a person and better in my life when I play Haydn. All art is about searching for answers about what happens after death. Haydn is the one who says, ‘I don’t have the answer, but it’s good, so who cares?'”

Adam Fischer from the Guardian article, The great Haydn road trip

“Haydn is the music of the future still. The true extent of his greatness is for the connoisseur a well-kept secret, for the larger public a ticking time-bomb that has yet to go off. When its hour comes, the explosion, rather than a Big Bang, will be a still small voice telling of the strange within the normal, the vast within the modest, the dark within the bright and vice versa: the essence of human experience in essentially musical terms.”

from Robin Holloway’s On Music: Essays and Diversions

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Of the Wednesdays to follow

  1. look forward to that Tom.

    Like

  2. Me, too. While I’ve heard a lot of Haydn, it’ll be a chance for me to explore all of what he’s done, and I’m quite sure I’m going to find some gems I hadn’t been aware of.

    Like

  3. As I’ve no doubt written to you before, I grew up in a house that embraced a wide variety of music platforms: classical, jazz, rock ‘n’ roll, opera, country. I grew to love others as well.

    Tom, you’ve given me something to think about. One of my favorite classical pieces is Beethoven’s Pastorale. But I will check out Haydn again.

    Like

  4. Look forward to hearing these.

    Like

Leave a Reply

